2016 Race Calendar – Spots Still Open!

It’s officially a brand new year, so I’ve been spending some time trying to figure out exactly what kind of trouble I’m going to get into in 2016. I’ve already committed to spring Masters Nationals, so that goes on the calendar.  The Chesapeake Bay Swim definitely goes on the calendar, assuming I get picked in the lottery. I’ll mark that as tentative for now.

Otherwise, I’m at a loss. Should I re-attempt the 10 miler? Should I look for something completely different, possibly on the west coast? I’m definitely planning to help this guy crush some big swimming goals this coming summer, but the plans for the long training swims have not been fully pulled together just yet (although I’m definitely looking forward to my first swim in La Jolla Cove since I was 6). I’m getting a bit twitchy trying to figure this out, with some possible work issues throwing another potentially large wrench in the planning.

On the other hand, this is probably the earliest I’ve started getting my crap together with my swimming plans for the year. Usually right now I’m holed up in my cave like a hibernating bear, downing copious amounts of holiday cookies, and dreading having to throw my well-padded ass back to the pool. While I did have some down time after the disappointment in October, I seem to be finding my mojo much earlier than usual this time around.

So, since the calendar is still mostly up for grabs at this point, anyone have any great ideas for cool and interesting races to tackle this year?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 2016 Race Calendar – Spots Still Open!

  1. Thanks for the support. Yep, we have some fun swims to tackle this summer. Are you ready? I am. Can’t wait for you to join us over at GMU. You coming?

    Like

Leave a Reply

