Crunchy is only good when it’s potato chips

Or cereal…or carrot sticks…but most decidedly not when it’s your neck. Turning your head shouldn’t sound like a bowl of Rice Krispies. Performing a star pass shouldn’t sound like your neck doing its best Chinese firecracker imitation. And most definitely, you shouldn’t be awake at night because you can’t find a comfy spot on your pillow that doesn’t make your neck ache.

That’s why, after months and months of procrastinating and putting things off, I finally went and got my neck x-rayed. That was an amusing activity in itself – the technician was an Asian lady who didn’t speak the best English ever, so the conversation went a bit like this:

Tech: Why are you here?

Grappledunk: My neck has been hurting me

Tech: Did something happen to it?

Grappledunk: Well, I do Brazilian Jiu Jitsu, and I got caught in a guillotine a while ago. The guy was new and didn’t know what he was doing, and instead of getting the choke, he just hauled off and cranked my neck until it popped really bad…

Tech: (eyes glazing over) What?

Grappledunk: Brazilian Jiu Jitsu. It’s kind of like wrestling, only we do choke holds and joint locks…

*Pause.*

Tech: You’re a wrestler?

Grappledunk: Well no, not a wrestler. It’s submission grappling. You know, make the other guy give up.

Tech: Grapple…ing?

Grappledunk: Yes.

Tech: (writing) How do you spell grappling?

Grappledunk: G-R-A….

I haven’t heard any results yet, probably because of the holidays, but I’m a bit nervous about what it’s going to say. In the meantime, I’m going to be mostly drilling technique and working the top in the live drilling, but no rolling at all. Its a bit frustrating, but I figure it’s best to figure out what is going on before I end up doing any more damage.

This entry was posted in Brazilian jiu-jitsu, grappling and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Crunchy is only good when it’s potato chips

  1. Elyse says:

    Been there, got the t-shirt.

    Are you going to Dalla’s New Years party?

    Like

    • grappledunk says:

      You hurt your neck too? What was wrong with it? How did they fix it? I’m all weirded out by the noises it’s making…

      Yep, I’m planning to be at Dalla’s party. See you there?

      Like

  2. Georgette says:

    Goodness, I hope it’s happy news. And I hope you have a happy new year. Have fun at that party and give Elyse a hug for me…

    Like

  3. grappledunk says:

    Thanks Georgette…and happy New Year to you too!

    Like

Leave a Reply

