Wander Braga knows stuff. And other stuff.

Wander Braga knows stuff: He was in town for a few days last week, trained at Dalla’s one day and did a seminar the next. I didn’t have a chance to roll with him on Friday, but the seminar was way cool. He showed a LOT of techniques from a range of positions, including submissions from standing, half guard, side control, and guard, and escapes and sweeps from half guard, sitting up (opponent standing), and half guard. He even showed a new technique he’s been developing and has had some success with. 

 

There was a whole lot to absorb, so I will be writing it all down and drilling it as much as possible. Sometimes a new perspective for a day can do a lot to advance your game, and I’m hoping that I can start to incorporate some of these techniques into mine. 

 

Other stuff: The pooch is doing much better. She’s back to all of her puppy-like mischievousness and is into endless trouble. That’s how it should be. Thanks to Steve and Georgette for the cleaning suggestions – we ended up having to get my sister’s car professionally cleaned. It was just too much. But I’ll remember those for the inevitable future occasions!

Training for my swims is going pretty well, although I can’t swim as frequently as I’d like. I did manage my first 5,000 yard workout last Saturday – I’ll have to work up to several 7,000+ yard workouts, including some sets of 1000s or 2000s for pace work. Looking forward to Reston to see where I am in the grand scheme of training things.

This entry was posted in Brazilian jiu-jitsu, Swimming Links and Other Cool Sites and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Wander Braga knows stuff. And other stuff.

  1. Elyse says:

    We had a Braga seminar up at BJJU last week too.
    It was incredible. I think the thing that impressed me the most about him was his grace of movement – everything so easy, everything perfectly placed… but I guess that’s what happens when you’ve been a black belt for longer than 90% of people have been training.

    Like

Leave a Reply

