In a bit of a funk

Last week was pretty much a drag. I had no energy, no motivation, and felt run down. So I didn’t train at all. No BJJ, no swimming. It is bit frustrating – I want to keep improving, and I know I can’t do that if I’m not training. But I’m learning to listen to my body and not push things when I need to rest. Better to miss a week than several months.   

 

But, on the other hand, I have surfing to look forward to this month. I’ve decided to take lessons in North Carolina later this month, as long as the hurricanes steer away from the southeast coast. This will be my first attempt at surfing, and I fully intend to have a blast and make a complete fool of myself. Hopefully I’ll get some good pictures that make it look like I know what I’m doing. Realistically, though, I expect to get the pictures of me going one direction with my legs up the air and the surfboard going the other…

 

Speaking of tropical weather, Hanna tried to flood our basement this weekend. We were on to her, though, and my sister rigged a piece of plywood that prevented leaves and flying debris from clogging the drain and steered the water away from the back door and into the yard. The only issue we had was the gutter overflowing in a way that caused a waterfall down the door itself. So things got slightly soggy, but it certainly has been worse. 

This entry was posted in surfing, Swimming Links and Other Cool Sites and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

