Getting my gills wet again

 

I haven’t really gotten back into swimming since I started to recover from my illness. I’m back in BJJ, but I just haven’t been able to get myself to go to the pool. I was thinking about why that is, and I’ve come to the conclusion that swimming is such a solitary sport – even when you train with a team, but especially when you are training by yourself – that I just haven’t had the motivation I need. Being sick is a lonely prospect. I think I really needed the camaraderie of BJJ to bring me out of my funk.

 

But lately, everywhere you look, there is motivation: Michael Phelps tearing up the pool in Beijing, the upcoming first-ever Olympic open water race, but most especially the e-mail I just received in my inbox. The pre-entry lottery information for the Great Chesapeake Bay Swim.

 

The GCBS is a 4.4 mile swim from Sandy Point State Park in Maryland across the Chesapeake Bay to Kent Island. The course is between the spans of the bridge – you swim in on the one side at the start and out the other side at the finish. Somebody with better forethought than I brought a camera during their swim, so here is what we swimmers see during the race:

I love this race. I’ve done it three times but I didn’t get to do it last year because I forgot to sign up for the lottery before the deadline. There’s only so many people who can do the race (about 600-700) and there is huge competition to get a spot. The last time they had a first come first serve entry system, it closed out in fifteen minutes. So that race (assuming I get in) is my big goal for the next year.  I also plan to do the Reston Masters 1 and 2 mile swims, and possibly a 2 miler up in Lake Placid. 

 

My first swim back was a slow 1400 yards. I have a lot of work to do before next June!

This entry was posted in Swimming Links and Other Cool Sites and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

