Rusty. Really Rusty.

I’ve made it to only a few BJJ classes so far, with several days in between for recovery. It’s going to be a slow process. This has become pretty evident – I turned into jello for the entire next day after my first two classes, and on Friday, I was at work all day, but all I really wanted to do was eat a huge meal and take a nap. 

I did manage to do a few rounds of the positional drills and pull a collar choke off against a white belt who didn’t know to protect his neck. It was a very small victory, but I felt bad at the same time; I probably should have stopped and told him that if someone gets their grips on your collar like that, stop trying to pass and defend the choke.

The strangest part of being so rusty, though, is that I seem to be reacting very slowly. For instance, we were working open guard drills and at one point, I was on the bottom with one leg in and one out (not quite half guard). I remember thinking, “I should try to duck under and take his back.” But for some reason, I didn’t, and he passed. 

On the other hand, I was able to stay awake to watch the Shayna Baszler – Christiane Cyborg fight on EliteXC last night. Shayna was working some interesting submission attempts in the first round, but she gassed pretty bad in the second. My guess is it was the adrenaline dump from being on live network TV for the first time, not a lack of conditioning. Either way, though, it didn’t end well for her, which was a bit of a disappointment – I tend to root for the underdog, and it was clear that Cyborg outweighed and out muscled her. 

Don’t get me wrong, though. When I say disappointment, I mean in the result, not in the fight itself. That was a really entertaining fight and I think it did a lot to continue the advance of women’s MMA. It was also gratifying to hear the announcers discuss the fact that the women should be fighting five minute rounds, not three. Maybe the powers that be will hear that and realize how ridiculous and sexist it is that they’re having women fight shorter bouts when they are just as serious fighters, and in many cases, more technical fighters, than the men. Stepping off my soap box now… 🙂

So anyway, my goal for this week is to get to three classes without falling apart, and to do a couple gentle, slow swims. I realize this may be unrealistic, especially since I’m really not in control of how I feel on a given day. So my other goal is to listen to my body and if I’m not up for training, to go home and rest instead.

This entry was posted in MMA and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Rusty. Really Rusty.

  1. Steve says:

    That was a good fight. Gina Carano and Cris Cyborg would be a very interesting matchup between two strong Muay Thai fighters. I hope to see it soon.

    And be nice to the newbies. I just read your last post and laughed. We get a steady stream of new guys, particularly when Ultimate Fighter is on TV and you can almost see the moment they realize, “Oh shit. This is hard work!” 🙂

    Like

  2. Elyse says:

    Teaching someone to defend a choke by actually choking them can be more effective than telling them to defend it… don’t feel too bad :P!

    Like

Leave a Reply

